Vegan Garlic & Rosemary Mashed Potatoes Recipe

Yum!  Simple yet delicious--and vegan!--you'll enjoy this twist on the classic mashed potato dish.
Yum! Simple yet delicious–and vegan!–you’ll enjoy this twist on the classic mashed potato dish.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you my most favorite potato recipe to date. I have a love affair with potatoes and took advantage of that in Peru, a country with more than 3,000 native species of the tuber. Use whichever potatoes you like best, but I prefer red potatoes with the skins on. (The skins have all the nutrients!)

Who knew olive oil could replace butter for a healthier, fresher taste to the traditional family style mashed taters? Spruce things up with raw garlic and fresh rosemary, and you’re sure to impress your neighbors at the next block party.

I’d also like to note that I have limited access to kitchenware when traveling. Therefore, I have made a fork my best friend when it comes time to mush the potatoes. While a beater will undoubtedly make your mashed potatoes creamier, I don’t consider such a utensil a necessity when I have only 15-gallons of space in my backpack for 3 months of travel. And surely it would be confiscated at airport security. So save yourself the hassle and stick with a fork. The taters taste just as good.

Ingredients:

5 red potatoes, 4 cloves garlic, 3 branches fresh rosemary, olive oil, salt, pepper

Serves: 3 people (or 2 if you’re eating with me)

Directions:

  • Boil the potatoes until they are soft enough to poke all the way through with a fork. (I recommend keeping the peels on once you’ve scrubbed them nice and clean.)
  • Pour at least ¼ cup of olive oil over the potatoes. (You may need to add more if the dish appears dry after mashing.)
  • Mash away with that fork of yours (or beater if you’re living the good life).
  • Mince the garlic and chop the rosemary. Toss into potato bowl with salt and pepper to flavor as desired.
  • Serve, eat, enjoy!
One thought on “Vegan Garlic & Rosemary Mashed Potatoes Recipe”

Leave a Reply

