Creative Frugality, or Island Life 101.1

Sticks and Q-tips make for ideal paintbrushes when you're on a budget.  Coconuts make great canvases!
Sticks and Q-tips make for ideal paintbrushes when you’re on a budget. Coconuts make great canvases!

Living on an island will teach you to embrace two important often underused concepts in home décor: creativity and frugality. It’s time to face the truth, all you dreamers and doers: living in paradise is expensive. But for someone like me who boasts an income in the lower class, it’s still doable. That’s why I say never stop dreaming, never stop doing. If you want something bad enough, you’ll make it work.

Coconuts, driftwood and sea beans inspired me to write islandy phrases and designs.  I glued some sea glass around the edges of the
Coconuts, driftwood and sea beans inspired me to paint these islandy phrases and designs. I glued some sea glass around the edges of the “go barefoot” sign–Long Island is a sea glass haven!

In my first love affair with island life, a 3-year introduction to modernized island living in the Florida Keys, I managed to save up enough funds for seven adventures abroad and afar. This fed my gypsy spirit for the time being, until that great big bowl of cultural enlightenment out there pulled me away for the long haul. Now I find myself experiencing the real island life on an out island in the Bahamas: Long Island.

Bocce ball can be played with colorfully patterned sea beans.  In fact, it might be an even better version than the cheap brand from Walmart. (Psh, there's no Walmart on this island.)
Bocce ball can be played with colorfully patterned sea beans. In fact, it might be an even better version than the cheap brand from Walmart. (Psh, there’s no Walmart on this island.)

But, as I’m prone to do, I digress. This post is a simple eye-opener into possibilities when you think outside the box. I found two large coconuts fallen from palm trees in the yard. I envisioned they were a canvas. I bought some paint (Bahamian flag colors!) but I skimped on the paint brush, because when you’re in paradise, you learn what constitutes a necessity. So I saved $14 and instead employed nature (sticks are free) and some Q-tips (at 1.5 cents each) to paint up something pretty. Think back to your elementary school color wheel and remember mixing yellow and blue gives you green, so I had another color to work with free of charge!  I remained inspired and decorated pieces of recovered driftwood to place around the yard and house. I even made a game of bocce ball with sea beans. Now that’s creative frugality!

Leave a Reply

