Indian Aloo Gobi Recipe

My favorite Indian dish, Aloo Gobi, of course contains two of my favorite vegetables--potatoes and cauliflower!
My favorite Indian dish, Aloo Gobi, of course contains two of my favorite vegetables–potatoes and cauliflower!

I called this dish Abu Gobi for most of my life, before my Indian friend’s mom had a good laugh on my account and corrected me. I guess I couldn’t get the monkey from Aladdin out of my head. But when she told me “aloo” and “gobi” are the Hindi vegetable names for this potato and cauliflower dish, it clicked. Abu Gobi, how silly my young self was.

You can imagine that a remote island has limited restaurant options. Most diners on Long Island offer local cuisine, which I appreciate—can’t go wrong with old fashioned peas and rice—but I do get a hankering for Indian food on a weekly basis. This Aloo Gobi dish cures my craving every time. Occasionally, I’ll mix it up with a lentil curry. But we all know potatoes have won my heart. Cauliflower comes in a close second.

Ingredients:

Potatoes*, cauliflower, garlic, yellow onion**, olive oil, curry, paprika, turmeric, coriander, sea salt

*Potatoes of choice! I alternate between red and white.

**White onion also will do.

Serves: well that depends on how many potatoes you use

Directions:

  • Chop the potatoes and cauliflower into appropriately sized pieces. (You’re smart enough to figure out how big or small.)
  • Mince the garlic and onion.
  • Pour all the vegetables into a pot with water level about halfway up the pile of ingredients. Bring to a boil.
  • Once the potatoes and cauliflower are soft, drain the water.
  • Mix olive oil and equal amounts of all the spices into the pot. (For 1 bag of potatoes, I usually do about 1 ½ to 2 Tbsp of each spice. Maybe a little less on the sea salt.) Stir incredibly well until spices are evenly distributed.
  • Taste test to see if you need to add more spices (or if you, oops, overdid it).
  • Serve, eat, enjoy!
One thought on “Indian Aloo Gobi Recipe”

  1. OMG!! Can NOT wait to make this! YUM!!!!! ( I am so far behind reading emails…..working hard here….10 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

