Remembering World Atrocities

The Paris attacks have left people questioning if we are on the brink of WWIII. Attacks like these leave civilians wanting to scream and shout, “Why can’t we all just get along?”

On September 11, 2015, I reflected on some of our world’s most current tragedies. There are far too many more that exist.

On my 2010 backpacking trip through Europe, I came across an impressive Holocaust memorial next to the Brandenburg Gate (see video above). Visitors to the monument are left to make their own conclusions as to the architect’s intent. As I walked among the concrete columns of varying sizes, I felt like I was in a mass grave. The memorial transported me back to a time, a tragedy, that occurred before my existence, but a world event that should never be forgotten.

We all wish for world peace. It is my wish that one day our world no longer experiences “events that should never be forgotten.”

One thought on “Remembering World Atrocities”

Leave a Reply

