Why I Chose Voluntourism

bruno1

Volunteer tourism–or better termed “voluntourism”–is a humanitarian alternative to leisure vacations. If you’re looking to dive head first into a culture, and do so affordably while simultaneously giving back to the community, voluntourism is the way to go.

If you want to hear about my firsthand experience building a school in Brazil, check out my article for Pink Pangea. It’s a story about hard work with a lot of smiles and laughter. It’s a story about how my green hat helped me make a friendship with a Brasilian schoolboy. Above all, it’s the tale of leaving more than just footprints in a place I visited.

3 thoughts on “Why I Chose Voluntourism”

  1. I really enjoy reading about your fascinating travels, mishaps and adventures. You seem to be enjoying your life a lot. I wish i was younger and could do what you are doing. Keep up the good work, take care of your self. I look forward to reading more about your future travels.

    1. Thanks, Val! I definitely strive to get the most out of life. As they say in theatre, age is but a number! Life is what we make of it, right? Hugs to you and everyone in the Keys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

