Famous People I Get Confused

Pop culture isn’t my thing. In college, someone mentioned Bono and I said, “What is that?” I don’t own a TV and never have since I headed to life on my own at university a decade ago. I don’t follow celebrities on Instagram or pull the magazines from the check-out racks. The people I surround myself with don’t spend our dinner dates gushing about celebrities. We talk about world culture, not pop culture.

But alas, I am working as a professional actor, and as such, I can appreciate the hours and hours of hard work put into building stardom. And I have learned that I can write about animals but writing about a celebrity rescuing an animal will gain my article much more traffic.

So, I don’t bury my head in a hole to avoid pop culture, but I don’t seek it out either. I’m learning, that’s for sure.

I still get some famous people confused. I’m not afraid to admit my embarrassing errors. Here’s a list of some famous people that are basically the same person in my mind:

1. John Lennon and John Glenn

If John Glenn had a memoir on tape, it’s quite possible I’d accidentally pop into the stereo songs from a Senator instead of a Beatle. For a long time, I thought Lennon was right there with Neil Armstrong on the moon.

2. Jimmy Kimmel and Jimmy Fallon

If you’re going to host a show late at night, please at least be a little more creative with your name.

3. Amy Adams and Isla Fisher

Which one is British? Also, it’s the red hair. But for some reason, Jenna Fischer is easily identifiable.

4. Meryl Streep and Glenn Close

I’ve never understood my confusion with this one. Two A-list ladies with incredible film credits to their name. But I can never remember which one played Cruella de Vil.

5. Uma Thurman and Gwyneth Paltrow (and Gwen Stefani)

Gimme a break. They kind of look alike, right? Gwyneth Paltrow is also often Gwen Stefani in my head.

6. Seth Rogen and Jonah Hill (and Josh Gad)

It took me a long time to get this one straight. Now I can’t tell photos of Jonah Hill and Josh Gad a part. I thought for a long time Jonah Hill had a good singing voice for a snowman.

7. Don Cheadle and Tim Meadows

They look different, especially in the eyes, but sometimes I picture Tim Meadows in Hotel Rwanda. It makes it a very different kind of movie.

8. Sigourney Weaver and Susan Sarandon. And sometimes Julianne Moore

Yes, I know. Throwing Julianne Moore into the mix just doesn’t make sense.

9. Chris Rock and Chris Tucker

Similar names, similar look, both comedians. Gimme a break.

10. Naomi Watts and Natalie Portman

It’s simply that their names both start with an N. They could maybe be sisters, too, don’t you think?

11. Orson Welles and George Orwell

Who wrote Animal Farm and 1984?

12. Elton John and Billy Joel

Seriously one and the same.

13. John Cusack and Kevin Spacey

Brown hair, brown eyes. Should I be concerned that I might have prosopagnosia? (I make sure every new brown-haired boyfriend has a different eye color than the last, so I can tell who is who.)

14. Adam Sandler and Andy Samberg

Adam and Andy Sandburg is what this results in.

15. Bing Crosby and Bill Cosby

Now that’s just a cruel play on words.

16. Michael Douglas and Martin Sheen

Brothers from another mother for sure.

17. Zach Braff and Dax Shephard

Dax was really good in Scrubs.

18. Gene Wilder and Richard Simmons

Curly-haired chocolate genius versus curly-haired Spandex guru. They’re both eccentric. And then there’s curly-haired Gene Simmons. Seriously, guys, cut your hair.

19. Woody Allen and Woody Harrelson

Just… No one should be named “Woody.”

20. Mel Brooks and Mel Gibson.

Still no idea the difference between the two.

Which famous people do you get confused? Thankfully, I’ve learned by now that Houdini and Gandhi are not one and the same. In time, I’ll be able to tell my musicians from my politicians.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

