Blackberry Jam Recipe

IMG_5507

Berry season is up there with fall and Christmas as my favorite time of year because in the PNW, the wilderness is rampant with berries of all kinds! Blackberries, huckleberries and blueberries are in season now. I’ve already made a dent in the blueberry census so it was time to take on the blackberries.

IMG_5495

On my foraging adventure through Discovery Park, everything I wore got stained–including my green jacket I’ve had since 8th grade, may it rest in peace. (Who am I kidding? I’ll still wear it. Tie dye is coming back in style.)

Fun fact, 409 or acetone (nail polish remover) get berry stains out of white countertops quick and easy. Fun fact, the Internet will fail you on how to remove berry stains. And your clothes and house will just end up smelling like vinegar.

For more jam recipes, check out my homemade nagoonberry and watermelon berry jams made during my weeks foraging in Alaska.

IMG_5505

Ingredients:

2 quarts blackberries, 3 Tbsp honey, 2 Tbsp solid coconut oil, 2 Tbsp Chia seeds (or Nutiva nut/seed mix)

Makes: ~30 oz

Directions:

1. Mash berries evenly in a pot.

2. Add in the honey and coconut oil.

3. Bring to a simmer over low heat, stirring frequently.

4. Slowly add in the Chia seeds or Nutiva mix. (Adding them in slowly prevents clumping!)

5. Continue to simmer for 45 minutes on low heat. Don’t forget to stir frequently so as not to scorch the jam!

6. Can in sealed jars. Keeps 3-4 weeks in refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

