Scriptwriting and Directing Debut!

I’m excited to share my first film writing and directing production!

Before I get into the nitty gritty, here’s the link.

Last week, I had the opportunity to partake in a film crash course geared at writers. Blue Forge Productions held Forge Flashpoint in Port Orchard, WA. When the clock started, I had two hours to pen a short film.

Writers and actors had to bring all proposed props and costumes with them to the previously undisclosed location.

The experience of writing under the pressure of time reminded me of my youth writing competitions for Power of the Pen. Students had three 40-minute rounds to write stories inspired by the three one-sentence themes of the day.

I spent the first 30 minutes drafting a list of characters from the actors on-site, tossing around themes and debating the genre. I opted to “hire” the one child actor available and, after brainstorming different settings for the small stage that acted as the set, a scene and plotline developed.

The film took me a half hour to direct. I learned how much patience and joy is employed when directing a five-year-old who is tired and hungry. The project was a welcome challenge and opened more creative doors for me!

You can watch the montage of short films now through September 30. You can also vote for the best film and actor by following the link when prompted. Winners will be announced October 1 and the winning film will be aired at a short film festival on October 30.

Leave a Reply

