Lyme Disease is a Bitch, But I Never Wanted a Normal Life Anyway

Lately, a number of friends have been sharing with me articles about chronic Lyme disease sufferers speaking out, including celebrities. The articles all say the same thing. To put it bluntly, Lyme disease is a bitch.

But the resounding beauty in these stories is a united tenacity, the strength to fight the daily struggle that lies hidden from the outside. Lyme disease can rob you of a normal life, but who really wants to be normal anyway?

Five years ago, I was on my way toward achieving one of my life goals. But it was halfway through training for a marathon in the beautiful Texas Hill Country that I started having joint pain, muscle spasms, nerve tingling and debilitating fatigue. Six months later, I was diagnosed with Lyme disease.

In 2014, I finished the famed 7-mile Bridge Run in the Florida Keys, my first race since the diagnosis that altered my life considerably. This year, I began training for a marathon again. But history repeated itself. At the halfway mark, my joint pain became unbearable.

It has been difficult accepting that I won’t be able to run that marathon in November that I set my eyes on back in January, the one for which I shelled out hard-earned savings for a spiffy pair of running shoes and spent countless hours researching. But I will get there one day. Dreams and goals are not meant to be forgotten. We make our own timelines for our own achievements, and when we have to put one on the back burner, we fill our lives with abundant new aspirations.

Lyme disease makes me fight daily battles, including abetting in my anxiety struggle. But in more ways than one, this staunch, crippling, silent disease has been a blessing in disguise. It continually forces me outside of my comfort zone, and in doing so, I’m living a life far from normal–a life I’ve still created for myself. Because no matter how overwhelming this condition is, it will not rule the way I choose to live.

7 thoughts on “Lyme Disease is a Bitch, But I Never Wanted a Normal Life Anyway”

  1. I am sorry you have to deal with Lyme disease, but this is definitely an inspiring message! You will run your marathon someday!!

  2. Oh, the title is right on target and the last paragraph wraps
    it up. I share all those thoughts except the one about a marathon. I’ve wanted to do a lot of things but that’s not one of them. I’m
    Sorry for the things you’ve had to forgo but glad for your joy in the new directions. Thanks for sharing.

      1. Thanks you for the kind compliment. I went undiagnosed with Lyme disease for far too long and had or have lasting issues with my nervous system being hyper sensitive. I wrote a post about it and am not sure if I posted it on Lifestoriesandbeyond or a fairly anonymous blog I started called missdiagnosis. Since I misspelled it in purpose I don’t get much traffic. I’m thinking of changing the name so I can post more medical stuff there. You might check it out.

      2. Yes, I would love to! I will look for it! I have the problem with hypersensitivity, too!! I hope you’ve found a way to cope and turn a misfortune into an adventure. It’s not easy, that’s for sure! Best of luck to you in your continued recovery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

