A Letter of Love to My Unborn Child

Dear Little One,

You are floating through an unknown distant future right now, your birthdate yet to be determined. You are innocent and non-cynical. You are pure and beautiful. You likely share my big brown eyes and Tigger energy. (Tigger was a bouncy, energetic cartoon character when your mom was growing up.) You are hopefully embarrassed about nothing and genuine about everything. You are a child, and you are mine.

As your mother, I will be nothing but honest with you.

When you ask me why I sometimes cry when I’m happy, I will explain to you the phenomenon of tears of joy. When you ask me why I’m sometimes sad, I will tell you that sometimes the world makes me unhappy, but I’m trying my hardest to make it better.

When you ask me where you came from, I will tell you how Mommy and Daddy created you out of love. When you ask me why your friend has two dads, I will tell you that that is the way his family loves. When you ask me why our neighbors have dark skin, I will tell you that skin comes in many colors but it doesn’t make us different. When you ask me why your classmate wears a scarf on her head, I will tell you it’s called a hijab, and she wears it because she has the right to dress and believe whatever she wants. And when you ask me what a right is, I will tell you it is something you are born with.

When you ask me if I’ve ever run away from my problems, I will tell you yes, and it solves nothing. When you ask me why you don’t have as many toys as the other kids, I will tell you that imagination is the best toy in the world, and that you can carry it everywhere you go. When you ask me why that man is dirty and sitting on the streets, I will ask you how you think we can help him. When you ask me why we can’t afford a big house, I will teach you what it means to follow your dreams.

When you ask me if we can get a dog at the pet store, I will take you to the shelter and come home with 13 handicapped pets. When you ask me if I ever fought with my sisters, I will tell you yes, but I never stopped loving them. When you ask me how to know if something is good or bad or right or wrong, I will tell you to listen to your heart.

When you ask me if I have ever hated someone, I will tell you yes, and it tore me apart. And when you ask me if I still hate that person, I will tell you no, because your mommy wanted to bring you into a world that is filled with love, and she can’t do that if she has hate in her heart.

When you ask me what you should do when you feel lost, afraid, judged, or forgotten, I will tell you to love harder and more.

When you ask me why you were born, I will tell you that I wanted to give to you the gift of loving because there is really no greater gift than that.

“If there is anything better than to be loved it is loving.”

-Anonymous

3 thoughts on “A Letter of Love to My Unborn Child”

    1. I’m glad you appreciate it! To clarify, this is for my not-yet-created child. But I’ll hold onto the congratulations for whenever that day comes. 🙂 I see how it could read like that.

Leave a Reply

