Entrepreneurs, Small Businesses and Start-Ups

As an entrepreneur from a family of entrepreneurs, I appreciate shopping local. I tend to gravitate toward small businesses and start-up companies with my three career paths. (Yes, three.) I know the dedication and leap of faith it takes to get to that point.

I am so proud of my parents for making a name for themselves in my hometown community and beyond with 35+ years owning their own business. And you know how skilled they are? They wrote their Master’s theses on typewriters and now they’re self-taught on Macs (with a little help from their daughters). That’s impressive stuff.

Small Business Saturday is lesser known than Black Friday or Cyber Monday. Fun fact, I’ve never participated in the latter two. I have, however, supported Small Business Saturday. In case you didn’t know, SBS is the Saturday after Thanksgiving, Nov. 26 this year.

In fact, I’m even running a promotional event for the small business I work for as well as a friend who will be showcasing his photography.

Did you even know about Small Business Saturday? Ask around town! I’ll bet there are local sales going on you didn’t even know about. But just how much are you giving back to the community by supporting SBS?

Georgia McIntyre of Fundera, a small business loan marketplace, discussed the benefits of this sale-abration in her article, “Here’s Why Small Business Saturday Could Be the Best Day Ever.” Did you know small businesses employ 55% of the workforce? Or how about the fact that 99.7% of U.S. employer firms are small businesses?

I will choose a local coffee shop over Starbucks (except for Pumpkin Spice Lattes–someone else needs to get those right). Seattle is huge on going local, and there are actually arguments over where you should get your coffee. But because Starbucks started in Seattle, some try to say technically they are buying local. Insert disapproving Stanley Hudson emoji here.

What is a small business? It is made up of a handful of hard-working individuals, all who know each other by name and know what every person’s role is in the company. Franchises don’t count.

Here are some small businesses I support in the places I’ve lived:

SEATTLE

Pike Place Market–you can’t go wrong here; a favorite for locals and tourists!

Ancient Arts–local paintings and handmade jewelry, pottery and soaps plus personable veterinary care

Ballard Coffee Works–no one does Chai Latte like they do

Wright Brothers Cycle Works–excellent bike repair shop

Petapoluza–all-natural pet supplies

 

PERRYSBURG, OH

(Bascially any shop in downtown historic Perrysburg)

Venzel Communications, Inc.–my parents rock

Zingo’s–BEST GREEK FOOD OF MY LIFE

577  Foundation–pottery classes, nature classes and more! (My family donated our overpopulated goldfish community to their pond)

 

FLORIDA KEYS

The Art Studio–pottery, cooking and painting!

Food For Thought–natural foods, books and a cafe

Body Language Dance Studio–dance classes of all kinds!

Marathon Community Theatre–showcasing local theatrical talents and a local art gallery

So get out there and hit up Small Business Saturday in your area!

To check out some more of my favorite local hot spots, visit my travel article on local restaurant reviews.

 

Leave a Reply

