Sometimes Travel Is About Who You Visit, Not Where You Go

I used my Travel Rewards points to book a flight. It isn’t to somewhere exotic; in fact, it’s to a place I’ve already been twice before. Yet with my current excitement level, you’d think I’m finally setting off on that backpacking trip through Southeast Asia.

In the past decade with so many months spent on the road, I’ve embraced solo travel—and it’s taught me more than I could ever learn at any job. But I have also worked hard at nurturing the relationships, near and far, that mean the most to me.

Sometimes travel is about going home for the holidays. Sometimes travel is about celebrating your friend’s marriage or newborn baby. Sometimes travel is about cherishing those last few breaths with a loved one.

And sometimes it’s about making the most of a quick trip simply to dance like a fool with your bestest friend.

Leave a Reply

