vegan pancakes

Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes with Kiwi & Clementines

Last night, I had a craving for vegan waffles. I don’t have a waffle-maker, but I could whip up some pancakes! However, I was lacking blueberries for my signature vegan blueberry pancakes. So I thought I’d add in some cinnamon.

Then I saw my bag of clementines and thought, why not? Below the clementines was a can of pumpkin I’d been meaning to use to make my popular vegan pumpkin bite cookies. Pumpkin and clementine sounded like a pretty good combo to me.

I added the kiwi in last minute because kiwi and clementine go very well together. The result was sinfully delicious, and my taste buds were so pleased that I thought outside the box!

I also used generic gluten-free flour for this recipe, which replaces regular flour 1:1.

vegan pancakes

Ingredients:

1 c flour, 3 tsp baking soda, 3 tsp cinnamon, 3 Tbsp applesauce, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 can pumpkin, 1/3 c maple syrup (or sugar/sweetener alternative), 2 Tbsp olive oil (or coconut oil), 1/2 c water (or as needed for pancake batter consistency), 3 peeled clementines, 1 peeled kiwi, dash each of: nutmeg, ground cloves, ginger

Makes:

6 medium pancakes (I ate them all)

Directions:

1. Whip everything except the fruit together. Add additional flour or water as needed to get the pancake batter consistency.

2. Coat a griddle in coconut oil. Plop the batter blobs on there once the coconut oil is melted.

3. Cook each pancake on low-medium heat. You may have to press down on them with the flipper to make sure they cook all the way through.

4. Arrange the clementine slices and cut up kiwi on the pancake stack. I recommend squeezing some of the fruit juice over top of the pancakes, too!

5. Top with maple syrup, coconut whip and/or almond butter.

6. Serve, eat, enjoy!

Leave a comment